Actual Interview With Mat

Mat generously let me interview him today and answered a lot of questions you may not have thought of!

Today I’ll be interviewing Mat, the co-founder and Managing Director of Nitrome! Well first off can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

 
Im one of the two Directors of Nitrome Limited. Nitrome started with just myself and Heather with me producing the artwork and Heather doing the programming. We have grown in size since then which has meant I now spend much more of my time organising what other people are working on but I do still find some time to get involved on the art side of things 🙂
How did you meet Heather?
 
For those who don’t know Heather is the other co-founder and Director of Nitrome. We have known each other a long time now, way before we started Nitrome together…..we met years ago at a party.

The success of Nitrome must have had some sort of impact on your life? Can you tell anything different?

 
I guess I get invited to more games events than I used to and I certainly get a lot more email. I wouldn’t say my lifestyle has particularly changed though…..I think people probably think we are more successful than we are!
Were you originally going for a gaming career? At that, an online gaming career?
 
I did Graphic Design in University and went into a career initially making websites, then flash micro sites, then adver games and then Nitrome….. I think I always knew I wanted to make games but never knew how 🙂 There were no flash games when I went to University so it is something that I have got into as Flash allowed me to!

What has been your favourite game that you’ve made? Or are there none you don’t love?

 
Well I don’t like to pick favourites and I do love all of them but I think possibly Twang would be the one I am most pleased with. I only did about half the art in that one though so possibly Skywire 1 & 2 would be the ones I worked fully on that I am most pleased with. 

Would you suggest this career to other people? Friends or family?

 
One of my brothers Jon works for me at Nitrome so I guess I would have to say that I have suggested it to him but no other members of my family were interested 🙂 It really depends on the sort of person you are…..if you love games so much that you can’t see yourself doing anything else and are willing to put a LOT of work into it then it is the job for you. It is a lot of work though and you really do have to be motivated so I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who only has a passing interest.

Did Simon disappear? He hasn’t been in any games recently other than Final Ninja Zero and Droplets.
 
Droplets is our most recent game so I think it’s fair to say he is still here! I think what most people don’t realise is that we have multiple games being made at the same time and they don’t always come out as soon as they are finished. Sometimes it can take months before a game is finally released so they can come out in orders that makes it look like some people are doing more than others at a particular time!

Can you give us a little detail on your office? What it is, how big it is, ect.

 
It is bigger than the one we used to be in (that was tiny!)  but it is not that flash to be honest…….it’s just 4 walls and some desks…….sorry folks no video walls, personal arcades or play areas despite what we would have if we did have the money!

Is it possible for Nitrome to end in the next few years? Or do you hope to have it going as long as you can let it?

 
Anything is possible but we don’t intend to end it any time soon. I would like to think that we continue to grow and try new things!

Have you ever been stopped on the street by a stranger and have them say, “Hey I know you… Your mat from Nitrome!”?

 
There is no reason for people to know what I look like so I think that’s unlikely to happen. I’m glad about that…..I don’t think I would know how to react 🙂

Finally would you like to add anything?

 
I’d like to thank everyone who is reading this for being our fans! We try to make the best games we can and to have people who like our work enough to set up their own fan site about us blows me away!

Thanks for the interview Mat,
Noah (Nintenbro0)

Leave a Reply

